Because I’ve been posting mostly in the voluptuarian category, I want to add to the virtuous.

A verse from a favorite hymn:

The soul that on Jesus has leaned for repose,
I will not, I will not desert to its foes;
That soul, though all hell should endeavor to shake,
I’ll never, no never, no never forsake.

There is comfort in these lines, for those of us who feel shaken.  There are days – weeks, even – when I feel as though I am deserted.  I cannot seem to pull free from the lure Hell has put out for me – and Satan is quite good at putting out tempting lures.  Like a fish on a hook, we wriggle, trying to free ourselves, knowing we are caught, but being unwilling to relinquish the worm or bait that caught us in the first place.  Trying to free ourselves, going at it alone… perhaps because we feel alone – or wish, in our shame, to be alone.  If only we would quieten, stop the wriggling.  Be still and know… Instead of trying to free myself, perhaps I ought to let the Father unhook me. Unhook me, and sooth the hurt.  For truly, it is I that have done the deserting, and not my Lord – He is always and ever with me, however far I may have wandered, if only I will turn around and take notice of Him.  He is waiting to wrap me in His arms and grace.  He will never – no never! – desert me to the Foe.

Leave a Reply

