6 On my bed I remember you;
I think of you through the watches of the night.
7 Because you are my help,
I sing in the shadow of your wings.
8 My soul clings to you;
Your right hand upholds me.

I am still thinking about a psalm verse I read last week – it was just a lovely image for me.  Verse 6 is a continuation of previous verses in which the author is troubled and sleep or restfulness eludes him.  But yet there is hope – like a chick under the protection of its mother we cling to God, are upheld by Him, and sing His praise.  How beautiful for me as a singer to imagine myself under God’s wing as I do that for which I know I was created.  How can there be any fear, when I am safe in His care?  How can I doubt the rightness of my song, when it is He that provides the song and the voice?

Leave a Reply

